Governor's Traffic Safety Committee

Child Passenger Safety Program

New York State Advisory Board

Child Passenger Safety Home Page

Mission Statement

The mission of the New York State Child Passenger Safety Advisory Board is to protect our child passengers by enhancing the quality and continuing growth of our child passenger safety program.


The New York State Child Passenger Safety Advisory Board was created in January 2004 as a result of the CPS task force meetings held statewide in 2003. Members of the Board were chosen to represent 14 regions of the state as well as special interests regarding child passenger safety. Each Regional Coordinator has been given the responsibility to help improve communication, provide assistance and program direction, address regional problems and issues, and assure that the Child Passenger Safety Standards of Performance are upheld. If at any time you have a question, idea, suggestion or anything that you feel the board should be made aware of, please feel free to contact your regional representative. Your representative is also your contact person for future CPS classes.

If you would like to attend one of our meetings, they are held four times a year, usually on a Monday, at the Comfort Inn, 16 Wolf Road, Albany, NY 12205 at 8:30 a.m. You must let the CPS Coordinator know you will be attending. Please make arrangements by emailing the CPS Coordinator.

CPS Advisory Board Bylaws (MS Word)

Upcoming meetings will be held on:


CPS regions

Board Members

Region 1, Greater Niagara: Niagara, Erie, Orleans, Genesee, Wyoming
Paul Nazzarett, Cheektowaga Police Department; email pnazzarett@cpdny.org

Region 2, Southern Tier:  Chautauqua, Cattaraugus, Allegany, Steuben
Denise Hoyt, Mobility Quality Assurance Coordinator, Ardent Solutions; email hoytd@ardentnetwork.org

Region 3, Greater Rochester:  Monroe, Wayne, Livingston, Ontario, Seneca, Yates, Schuyler
Suzanne Healey, Rochester General Hospital; email suzanne_healey@aol.com

Region 4, Upper Central NY:  Onondaga, Cayuga, Cortland, Madison, Oneida, Herkimer, Oswego
Margaret Beers, Office Assistant, Behavioral Health Services, Oswego Health; email mbeers@oswegohealth.org

Region 5, Lower Central NY:  Chemung, Tompkins, Tioga, Broome, Chenango, Delaware, Otsego
Christine Muss, Broome County Health Department; email CMuss@co.broome.ny.us

Region 6, Lower Adirondack:  Hamilton, Warren, Washington, Fulton, Saratoga, Montgomery
Cynthia J. Dort, Occupant Protection Specialist Educator, Cornell University Cooperative Extension of Saratoga County; email cjd53@cornell.edu

Region 7, Capital Region:  Schenectady, Albany, Rensselaer, Schoharie, Greene, Columbia
William Van Alstyne, Program Director, Albany County DPW Traffic Safety Education Programs; email William.VanAlstyne@albanycounty.com

Region 8, Mid-Hudson:  Sullivan, Ulster, Dutchess, Orange, Putnam
Kecia Healy - email protectwhatulove@gmail.com

Region 9, Westchester-Rockland:
Peter Dandreano, Greenburgh Police Department - email pdandreano@yahoo.com

Region 10, New York City:  Bronx, Brooklyn, Manhattan, Staten Island (2 representatives)
Landon Wickham - email Landonwickham@aol.com
Renso Vidal, New York City Department of Transportation - email rvidal@dot.nyc.gov

Region 11, Queens/Special Needs:
Mark Hoffacker, Program Coordinator, NYS Coalition for Transportation, Bayside, NY - email mwhoffacker@gmail.com

Region 12, Nassau:
Angela Brockmann, Supervisor, EAC Network; email angela.brockmann@eacinc.org

Region 13, Suffolk:
Rachel Lugo, Division Director, EAC Network; email rachel.lugo@eacinc.org

Region 14, Adirondack:  St. Lawrence, Franklin, Clinton, Lewis, Essex, Jefferson
Julia Ielfield, Carthage Hospital; email ielfield@frontiernet.net

Governor's Traffic Safety Committee:  Paul Overbaugh, NYS Child Passenger Safety Program Coordinator, GTSC; email paul.overbaugh@dmv.ny.gov

New York State Police:  Sgt. Todd Engwer, Law Enforcement Liaison, NYSP; email Todd.Engwer@troopers.ny.gov

National Highway Traffic Safety Administration:  Allison Beas, Regional Program Manager, NHTSA Region 2; email allison.beas@dot.gov

New York State Health Department:  Anne Mirabito, Program Manager, NYDOH; email anne.mirabito@health.ny.gov

Pupil Transportation:  Ted Finlayson-Schueler, Executive Director, Safety Rules! - email schoolbusted@safetyrules.net

New York State Association of Traffic Safety Boards:  Pam Wanning, Representative, New York State Association of Traffic Safety Boards; email wanningp@sunyulster.edu

Nassau SAFE KIDS Coalition:  Rosemarie C. Ennis, Director, New York State Safe Kids Coalitions Assistant Vice-President; email rennis@northwell.edu