Office of Communications
6 Empire State Plaza
Albany, NY 12228
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:
August 20, 2015
MEDIA ADVISORY: End-of-Summer "Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over"
Crackdown on Impaired Driving Kicks Off in Buffalo
Annual enforcement period aimed at reducing deaths and injuries caused by drunk and impaired driving statewide
On Thursday, August 20, the Governor's Traffic Safety Committee (GTSC) and the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will host a press conference in Buffalo to kick off this year's end-of-summer statewide Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over law enforcement crackdown (August 21 to September 7) on impaired driving. New York joins each state across the country for the 20-day traffic safety education and enforcement campaign, which is aimed at significantly reducing deaths and injuries caused by motorists driving drunk or impaired by drugs.
WHEN: The press conference will begin promptly at 10 a.m. on Thursday, August 20, 2015.
WHERE: Canalside, Buffalo, NY. The press conference will be held under the large white VIP tent at Prime and Main Streets.
Surrounded by Buffalo's Main Street, the Naval & Military Park, First Niagara Center and the Buffalo River, Canalside can be accessed through entrances off Scott Street/Marine Drive. For GPS navigation, enter 44 Prime Street, Buffalo, NY 14202 as the destination address.
WHY: In New York State, the legal threshold for driving while intoxicated is a blood-alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 percent, but many offenders are arrested at nearly twice that level: statewide, the average BAC is more than .14. In Erie County last year, the average BAC was even higher at nearly .16 percent.